Testing, a great way to learn

North Sea. Beach. Rain. Children siesta. Revise for motorcycle theory test!

Last week I went to take my motorcycle theory test. I didn’t revise and didn’t have a clue what was waiting for me. I failed by one point on 50… …but I learnt what I knew and didn’t know and what the test looked like (lots of technical stuff about motorbike tyres!!). This week, I am learning by testing.

 

http://www.feuvert.be has a nice practice test section which allows you to test yourself on all types of questions in tests that are exactly like the real test. You can check your answers at any time and find extra technical explanations of why you were right or wrong.

So I’m learning by testing. And I’m getting better every time!

 

What’s my point? Testing is a great way to learn.

As a test-creator, consider the following elements to get the best out of your test participants:

  • Authentic testing is relevant to the subject being learnt
  • Content, questions and answers should be presented in a variety of formats
  • Participants should be able to quickly get feedback on their performance
  • Gamification elements like social comparison, leader-boards, variable time-limits and progressive knowledge levels improve motivation to take and retake tests

That’s all I had to say!
…back to my revision 🙂

 

Follow me on Twitter
Visit www.infinitelearning.be

 

About Dan Steer

Wandering corporate trainer, learning and development consultant, conference speaker and professional El-Magico. I help people get better at stuff by creating and facilitating Infinite Learning © opportunities. The world would be a better place if everyone was doing what he loved and doing it well. I am working to bring out the "El Magico" in everybody. Training in presentation and communication skills, leadership, social media for learning and marketing, learning and development management + personal effectiveness.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Learning Management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

