Help! I can’t get past the firewall!!

Fresh off the plane and I grabbed my first victim…

Chris Frederick Willis ( @media1der ) explained to me the value of MS SharePoint as a learning tool. A social learning tool.

In my ex-corporate-employee mind, SharePoint is a boring static folder-based storage tool that people basically don’t use at work. Conversations with @coachwim already gave me the idea that this was a misconception: Apparently SharePoint can do many of the things social learners want: Rating, tagging, profiles, sharing, chat etc….

 

But why use SharePoint when there are so many other (free) alternatives?

 

 

Chris explained to me that my vision of SharePoint as a storage tool WAS probably true some years ago. But now it’s more a performance tool. SharePoint users can do lots of different things to streamline their working processes, from integrating with SAP databases, to chat, video sharing and basically anything else you can find on SoMe tools.

 

With 1 big advantage that my friends in the Belgian banks have already been telling me about: It’s inside the firewall.

 

…but is it sexy? Do people use it? Does it deliver?

Contact Chris and she’ll give you the answers 😉

 

 

Thx for reading
DAN

 

About Dan Steer

Wandering corporate trainer, learning and development consultant, conference speaker and professional El-Magico. I help people get better at stuff by creating and facilitating Infinite Learning © opportunities. The world would be a better place if everyone was doing what he loved and doing it well. I am working to bring out the "El Magico" in everybody. Training in presentation and communication skills, leadership, social media for learning and marketing, learning and development management + personal effectiveness.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Learning Management and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

