Using video to invite people to training

At a recent Kluwer Trainer’s Evening, we discussed lots of things that could be done using #SoMe before, during and after training to improve its effectiveness.

I decided I would try using video to invite people to training, giving a little information about myself and the content prior to arrival. I thought this might simply help to create some rapport prior to an event and maybe align expectations. I also think the medium is nicer than a simple email.

 

In preparation for a conference at the Federal Government last week on the New World of Work and how we need a New Way of Learning, I published this film…

 

 

Process

  • This film was made in my office at home using a flip-cam. I decided to pay real preparation attention to the content of what I wanted to share, but the film itself was done in 1 take –> I don’t think people expect you to be a perfect presenter on such a film.
  • I uploaded it to my own YouTube channel (www.youtube.com/dansteerchannel)
  • The film was referenced in an email to all participants – 70 people in total.

 

It was watched by 60 people so far.

 

If you, as a traine, have questions about such simple add-ons to yor approach, mail me!

 

Thanks for reading,

D

 

 

About Dan Steer

Wandering corporate trainer, learning and development consultant, conference speaker and professional El-Magico. I help people get better at stuff by creating and facilitating Infinite Learning © opportunities. The world would be a better place if everyone was doing what he loved and doing it well. I am working to bring out the "El Magico" in everybody. Training in presentation and communication skills, leadership, social media for learning and marketing, learning and development management + personal effectiveness.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Learning Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

