How people pay attention …or why nobody else saw the Herbalife posters!

(Part 2 of the blog-entry “Why I see Citroen Xsara Picasso’s everywhere and why you should care“)

 

Last week I was travelling to Barcelona. As I boarded the plane, I passed a man 2 rows ahead of me who had just pulled a book out of his bag. The book was called “Presentatie Tecniken” (or possibly something with a correct Dutch title!). This caught my attention.

I got chatting to him in my best tourist Dutch, starting by asking why he had that book. I told him about my job and he told me that he had to give a presentation and was looking for ideas on how to improve.

It turns out that last week there was a big conference in Barcelona for 15,000 Herbalife people. He was attending with his wife.

When I got off the plane I saw Herbalife posters everywhere. In Barcelona, they have revolving publicity posters and 1 in 3 was for Herbalife.

 

When training the next day, I mentioned “Why I see Citroen Xsara Picasso’s everywhere and why you should care” and asked if anyone had seen the posters at the airport. Everybody had come via the airport except one local person, but only 1 person had seen them! Why? Because the were not interested. Because HerbalLife meant nothing to them. Because the door was not open.

 

(…except one guy from Russia. A big football fan, he noticed a big poster with Messi on)

Want to know why I like this story? Read “Why I see Citroen Xsara Picasso’s everywhere and why you should care”.

 

Thanks for reading!

D

 

Leave a comment

Subscribe to my blog (top/right)

 

About Dan Steer

Wandering corporate trainer, learning and development consultant, conference speaker and professional El-Magico. I help people get better at stuff by creating and facilitating Infinite Learning © opportunities. The world would be a better place if everyone was doing what he loved and doing it well. I am working to bring out the "El Magico" in everybody. Training in presentation and communication skills, leadership, social media for learning and marketing, learning and development management + personal effectiveness.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Communication, Resources and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

