My 21 favourite good SWOT questions

The first step to doing SWOT well is asking good questions. Don’t know what questions to ask? Read this post.

SWOT is a great and simple tool for analysing your current position in order to define strategic action. In this post, I first outline the meaning of strategic action and then list 21 of my favourite SWOT questions to help you with your own SWOT analysis.

 

Creating strategic action starts with knowing your position

According to Sun Tzu, the Chinese military general who penned “The Art of War”, understanding your current position is the key to creating good strategy. According to Stephen R Covey in “The 7 habits of highly effective people”, if you don’t begin with the end in mind (define a clear mission) it is not possible to understand your current position and therefore not possible to put first things first and create strategic action and priority-based action. Linking these ideas to the usage of SWOT, we can say that you cannot know your strengths (for example) unless they are measured in relationship to some goal, mission or objective. When asking “How strong am I?” we must first ask “For what?”

So – if you want to use the following SWOT questions to analyse your position, start by defining your mission well. If you’ve already done that, read on and answer each of these questions, thinking of your mission statement at each moment…

 

Strengths

  • What makes you better than others (for this mission)?
  • What actions do you do well?
  • What are your competences? What knowledge, skills and attitude do you have that can help you?
  • What do other people say you do well?
  • Why should you of all people undertake this mission?

 

Weaknesses

  • What could you improve in order to achieve this mission?
  • In what ways are you not efficient?
  • What don’t you do well?
  • Where are you incompetent? What knowledge, skills and attitude are you missing?
  • What should you avoid doing?
  • Why shouldn’t you undertake this mission?

 

Opportunities

  • What real opportunities are present today?
  • What is going on around you that seems to be useful?
  • From which recurring tendencies can you profit and how?
  • What could be done today that isn’t being done?
  • What is missing on the market?
  • Who can support you and how?

 

Threats

  • What are the negative tendencies in play today?
  • What obstacles do you face in your mission right now?
  • Who might cause you problems in the future and how?
  • What is the competition doing that might cause difficulties for you?

 

Not enough? Read my other post: 6 more cool SWOT questions to identify opportunities

 

When I do a SWOT, I like to take a little time alone to get started, but then try nonetheless to include others later on (my wife, peers, a team I am working with). Here are 2 more references to help you do a great SWOT:

 

Once the initial SWOT is done, it’s time to start thinking about actions, solutions, priorities etc…

..want a simple idea? Check out my post on “2 questions that seem to set me free” or read about “Creating Strategic Action in 4 Steps

 

Follow me on www.twitter.com/dan_steer for more learning and development resources.

Subscribe to this blog on with your email address (top/right)

Share with others!

 

About Dan Steer

Wandering corporate trainer, learning and development consultant, conference speaker and professional El-Magico. I help people get better at stuff by creating and facilitating Infinite Learning © opportunities. The world would be a better place if everyone was doing what he loved and doing it well. I am working to bring out the "El Magico" in everybody. Training in presentation and communication skills, leadership, social media for learning and marketing, learning and development management + personal effectiveness.

Posted on February 5, 2011, in Leadership, Resources, Self-Effectiveness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful blog!

  2. Thanks San Diego Photo Booth :-)

    I’m glad you found something useful. You can also check out these other pages on SWOT:

    dansteer.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/10-ideas-to-make-the-best-of-swot-analysis

    http://dansteer.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/6-more-cool-swot-questions-to-identify-opportunities

    ..and my post about Creating Strategic Action in 4 Steps:

    http://dansteer.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/creating-strategic-action-exercise

    Happy reading!
    D

  3. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

    • When I click on your link, I go to a site about a band/record. I wonder what this has to do with my blog and wonder if this comment is spam.

      If you really want me to guest blog for you, please find and contact me via Twitter.

      Thanks and sorry if my suspicion is ill-founded :-)

  4. Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

    • Thank you Greg for this very positive comment.

      I really appreciate it.

      Don’t forget to subscribe if you haven’t already ..just pop your email address in (top/right).

      If you have ideas for content, please let me know.

      DAN

  5. Hi there, You have done an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  6. Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is useful. Many thanks for
    sharing!

  7. Fantastic website. Plenty of useful

    information here. I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks for your sweat!

  8. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am happy to exhibit that I have a very good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot definitely will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

  9. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    often!

  10. Wow, this piece of writing is fastidious, my sister is analyzing such things,
    thus I am going to tell her.

  11. Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it
    out.

  12. Superb blog! Do you have any helpful hints
    for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Cheers!

  13. This is my first time visit at here and i am really
    impressed to read all at alone place.

  1. Pingback: 10 ideas to make the best of SWOT analysis « dansteer

  2. Pingback: 22 questions to help you analyse your team-ability « dansteer

  3. Pingback: Creating Strategic Action in 4 Steps « dansteer

  4. Pingback: Page not found « dansteer

  5. Pingback: A few of my favourite posts for today’s new visitors « dansteer

  6. Pingback: Online Community Management Tips and Best Practices | dansteer

  7. Pingback: 10 tips for effective SWOT analysis | dansteer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

